FiddleBop's logo

FiddleBop's satisfied customers

"Thank YOU for a(nother) wonderful evening. Your talents as musicians/singers is only matched by your presentation, ‘joie de vivre’, choice of music, warm personalities etc..."

Oxford Jazz Kitchen gig at The Rose and Crown, Oxford, July 2017
"That was a great night and thanks for coming many people said how great you guys are, look forward to seeing you again soon 😊"

Pub gig, July 2017
"Thank you so much for playing your unique brand of music for us and I am so glad that you all enjoyed the evening and the food. It was lovely to meet up with you again and everyone did so love your music."

Gig at Upton House, June 2017
"Sunday jazz in the courtyard tonight was amazing. Fiddlebop entertained us with brilliant music, from the livliest that gypsy jazz has to offer with some beautiful slower numbers. Their command of their instruments with Dave's rhetoric and humour gave us a fabulous all round entertaining evening. Thank you."

Oxford Jazz Kitchen gig at The Rose and Crown, Oxford, February 2017 (also on Facebook)
"Thanks for playing. It was a really great evening: really good feedback... We raised a stonking XXXX for the Orphanage."

Variety Night, February 2017
"We had a lot of favourable comments and I personally am very pleased!"

Live Jazz Supper Evening, January 2017
"THANK YOU so much. I’m really sorry I didn’t spend more time bringing you drinks, saying thanks and enjoying your music. More importantly I really wanted to thank you for turning last night into a party."

ECI 25th Anniversary Dinner, University of Oxford, September 2016
"Just a note to say a huge thank you to Fiddlebop for your support on Saturday evening. It was certainly one of the most successful evening events we’ve ever held at the pool and we think we will have raised over £1,000 – all vital funds to support the running of the facility. It was really lovely to have such great live music helping create a very convivial atmosphere - and for once the weather was kind to us all. Thank you, too, for saying you might be up for something similar next summer – we’ll be in touch again soon, I’m sure."

Fund-raiser gig for Chipping Norton Lido, July 2016
"I just want to say thank you once again for entertaining us so brilliantly at the Garden Party last Friday. There were XXX people there which was amazing and we have received some lovely comments about the music [...] Your music is just perfect for the Garden Party and you certainly brightened up a cloudy, breezy day! It is so kind of you all to give your time so generously and very much appreciated by XXXX."

Garden Party gig, July 2016
"You folks were absolutely wonderful and I really enjoyed your set as did all the other people attending and so pleased to hear you enjoyed it too! We will most definitely be in contact for the next night market!"

Evening Street Market gig, June 2016
"It was a pleasure to meet you all and thank you so much for coming. We so enjoyed your music! Goodness yes the weather, and yet so many happy faces... No no, it will NEVER rain again!!"

Daylesford Festival gig, May 2016
"Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Well done, fabulous show."

Pub gig, May 2016
"Oh what a fab evening we had on Saturday and truly mostly down to you guys! Everyone loved you! You are such an amazingly tight and clever sound and so entertaining. Absolutely ideal for our sort of event."

Private party gig, April 2016
"Thanks guys we had a great night and every one said you was great too."

Pub gig, November 2015
"The band was 'Fiddlebop' who were tremendous and enjoyed by everyone. They certainly got feet tapping and most people had a quick jig at some point. They gave their time for nothing and we so appreciate their support for our work in the South African township. Dave Favis-Mortlake introduced all tunes and told some interesting anecdotes about their origin and together with Jo Davies, Roger Davis and their guest Jez Cooke (superb guitarist) played a variety of great music. Many THANKS to all the band. Highly recommended. [...] We made the superb sum of xxx which will be wending its way to South Africa very soon. I know how much they need a vehicle that can safely transport children around so this may well go towards that, slowly but surely the funds will build to purchase this important addition to the project."

Fund-raiser gig, November 2015
"I just want to say again (in the cold light of day!) that your music in the [pub] last night was the best music I’ve ever heard. It took me ... right into heaven. What a great talented bunch of people you are. Let’s get you back as soon as."

Pub gig, August 2015
"Thanks guys. Cracking gig and a really appreciative audience."

Pub gig, April 2015
"Thank you for such an excellent performance last night. It was a sensational gig and I was so happy with everything you did. It could not have gone better. I will remember it for many years to come."

FiddleBop private party gig, June 2015
"Thank you so much for such a fantastic performance on Saturday night. Everybody who came to the party said how wonderful you all were and really enjoyed your music."

FiddleBop private party gig, March 2015
"You were wonderful on Friday evening and really helped the evening to go with a real swing. So many people said how much they enjoyed it!"

FiddleBop gig at Art Cafe, November 2014
"Fiddle bop were a perfect choice for my party and you have been getting rave reviews! Thank you so much..."

Private party, September 2014
"On behalf of us all at xxx, so many thanks for entertaining us last night with your amazing and fab gypsy jazz music. You did a great job and we all loved it... we would love you to come and play for us again in the future..."

Garden party gig, September 2014
"I just wanted to thank you once again for a wonderful musical touch at our Summer Fete, comments from Relatives and Residents have been really positive."

FiddleBop gig at Care Home, July 2014
"We plan to book you again in 2015!... a big thank you for your contribution and please be free next year !!"

Chipping Norton Festival, June 2014
"Thank you so much for playing for us last night, everyone said how much they enjoyed your music. It was just perfect for the 1930s heyday of xxx. It was lovely to meet you all and I wish you much success for the rest of the year."

FiddleBop gig, June 2014
"Thanks again for Fiddlebop's wonderful contribution - it lifted the whole party. As you saw, we had guests from 2 to 85 years old, and lots of them told me how much they'd enjoyed the music. We really appreciated your professionalism and adaptability, too."

Private party, June 2014
"Thank you so much for playing, we really do appreciate it. I thought you were brilliant, love your style of music and the energy you bought with you."

FiddleBop gig, May 2014
"We all thought you were great... Hope to hear you again soon."

FiddleBop gig, September 2013
"Thank you to all of you for coming yesterday and playing so stunningly. The music was much appreciated by everyone... We raised xxx which was a very good result. Thank you SO MUCH again."

Fund-raiser event, September 2013
"... with Dave on authentic Grappellyesque fiddle..."

Jam session, September 2013
"Hi guys. Thank you so, so much for playing for us last night! You played beautifully and helped to make our special day even more perfect. Love always xxx and xxx"

FiddleBop wedding gig, August 2013
"Just wanted to say a personal thank you to you and the band for entertaining us on Friday at the Garden Party. It was just perfect and lovely to see xxx joining in too. Please pass on my thanks to all concerned it was brilliant!"

Garden party, July 2013
"Just to say thank you so much for coming to play for us on a very hot Sunday. You really made the day for us and you created such a lovely atmosphere for all. You will be pleased to know that we made xxx of which xxx is going to each of the three charities. Have a great summer and many thanks again. We love your music."

Fund-raiser event, July 2013
"Great set last night and a lot of fun. Thanks for a good evening."

FiddleBop pub gig, March 2013
"We just loved your visit to the xxx's house. Looking to hearing you again soon."

Private party, November 2012

All of these are from unsolicited 'thank you' emails sent to the band. If anyone wants to see the original emails, ask and we'll see what we can do.

Back to top of page


Online reviews of FiddleBop

Jazz'n'Jazz, 24 November 2016

A writeup in a blog: Le QuecumBar Battersea Square - FiddleBop gig (August 2014) by Lexie Carducci

"Tonight we had the pleasure of being entertained by Fiddlebop - a four piece jazz band with a gypsy swing. Playing a selection of well known jazz classics with a hint of original numbers thrown in to mix it up a bit. The beautiful blended sound of violin, guitars, vocals and double bass made for a calm dining listening and for desert these guys made sure to bring some swing which had many customers dancing off their dinner! Not only were the band musically talented but had a sense of humour and charm too, each song was introduced with a little anecdote of fact and fun!"

FiddleBop at Le QuecumBar in August 2014, by Lexie Carducci

Another pic of FiddleBop at Le QuecumBar in August 2014, by Lexie Carducci

Back to top of page


FiddleBop in print

The Cotswold Journal, 23 May 2016


FiddleBop in the Cotswold Journal, 23 May 2016

The Oxford Mail, 4 September 2015


Jo from FiddleBop in the Oxford Mail, 4 September 2015

The Banbury Cake, September 2015. Thank you, Sue Clifton!


Jo in the Banbury Cake in September 2015

The Witney Gazette, September 2015


And Jo in the Witney Gazette, September 2015

Chipping Norton Festival 2014, from the online Cotswold Journal

Cotswold Journal, 25 June 2014

Chippy Jazz and Music 2013, from the online Cotswold Journal

Cotswold Journal, 1 November 2013
Chipping Norton Times, Issue 38 for Nov 2013


Chippy Jazz and Music 2013 from the Chipping Norton Times, Issue 38 for November 2013

Banbury Guardian, 29 September 2011


The Banbury Guardian for 29 September 2011, reporting on Chippy Jazz 2011

Banbury Guardian, 14 July 2011


The Banbury Guardian for 14 July 2011, reporting on Chipping Norton Festival 2011

Banbury Cake, 11 October 2012


Chippy Jazz and Music 2012, as reported in The Banbury Cake

Back to top of page

Hot Jazz Swing with Gypsy Zing!