FiddleBop's logo

FiddleBop's satisfied customers

These are mostly from unsolicited 'thank you' emails sent to the band. If you want to see any of the original emails, ask and we'll see what we can do.

"Thank you all for the great music...finally got to bed at 04.30...very lucky with the weather...."


"Just wanted to let you know that we saw you at XXXX Farm in Lower Chapel last night and thought you were brilliant. We didn't get a chance to tell you at the end, but we really enjoyed your music. Many thanks."


Private party gig, September 2022

"Thank you for coming along and playing! We really enjoyed your set and it fit the atmosphere perfectly, look forward to having you back soon."

(Manager, Nant y Walch Barn)

Gig at Nant y Walch Barn, August 2022
"Oh Im so glad you enjoyed... Feedback has been great... every one really enjoyed."

(Melin Tregwynt)

Gig at Melin Tregwynt, August 2022
"Fiddlebop, in their second time at PIP, were passionate, lively and quirky and gave us a delightful mix of four-part harmonies and zingy gypsy jazz from all the jazz eras."

on behalf of the Adderbury Party in the Park Committee. In Adderbury Contact Magazine: Volume 45, No. 6 (July-August 2022)

Gig at Party in the Park Festival, June 2022

"Glad you had a good time! It was very well attended which I am super happy with and we will definitely think about getting you guys back for a similar charitable event - I am keen to do more of them!"

(Events and Marketing Coordinator for the Institute of Art and Ideas)

Benefit gig at The Globe at Hay, August 2019
"Thank you all SO much for yesterday – what a lovely day it turned out to be! You all really made it for us, and I know everyone appreciated and enjoyed the music. Thank you so much again – it was absolutely great!"

(Community/Events Fundraiser for St David's Hospice)

Benefit gig at Treberfydd House, June 2019
"On behalf of the Village Hall Committee, I would like to thank you for your performance for playing in the '1968' concert along with Talgarth Community Choir. It was a wonderful evening and we were all pleased that so many people attended to contribute towards the cheerful atmosphere. Your spot was so well received (cf. the spontaneous loud applause from the audience), which went to make the evening a most enjoyable event. I particularly liked the top hat."

(Chairman, Llaneglwys Village Hall Committee)

Gig at Llaneglwys Village Hall, June 2018

Some reviews of FiddleBop (version 1). This first version of FiddleBop began around 2004 and disbanded in December 2017.

"Earlswood Village Hall Was Rocking At The Live Jazz Supper Evening!

Playing to a virtually full house, ‘Fiddlebop’ were on top form on Saturday 7th October at Earlswood Village Hall. Their reputation as one of the best live bands from the Cotswolds is well deserved. Playing a mixture of swing jazz and more contemporary pieces, they had the whole of the Village Hall rocking throughout the night. Our most common response was, ‘When will they be back?’ which shows just how enjoyable they were!"

Your Call Magazine

Gig at Earlswood Village Hall, October 2017
"Thank YOU for a(nother) wonderful evening. Your talents as musicians/singers is only matched by your presentation, ‘joie de vivre’, choice of music, warm personalities etc..."

Oxford Jazz Kitchen gig at The Rose and Crown, Oxford, July 2017
"That was a great night and thanks for coming many people said how great you guys are, look forward to seeing you again soon 😊"

Pub gig, July 2017
"Thank you so much for playing your unique brand of music for us and I am so glad that you all enjoyed the evening and the food. It was lovely to meet up with you again and everyone did so love your music."

Gig at Upton House, June 2017
"Sunday jazz in the courtyard tonight was amazing. Fiddlebop entertained us with brilliant music, from the livliest that gypsy jazz has to offer with some beautiful slower numbers. Their command of their instruments with Dave's rhetoric and humour gave us a fabulous all round entertaining evening. Thank you."

Oxford Jazz Kitchen gig at The Rose and Crown, Oxford, February 2017 (also on Facebook)
"Thanks for playing. It was a really great evening: really good feedback... We raised a stonking XXXX for the Orphanage."

Variety Night, February 2017
"We had a lot of favourable comments and I personally am very pleased!"

Live Jazz Supper Evening, January 2017
"THANK YOU so much. I’m really sorry I didn’t spend more time bringing you drinks, saying thanks and enjoying your music. More importantly I really wanted to thank you for turning last night into a party."

ECI 25th Anniversary Dinner, University of Oxford, September 2016
"Just a note to say a huge thank you to Fiddlebop for your support on Saturday evening. It was certainly one of the most successful evening events we’ve ever held at the pool and we think we will have raised over £1,000 – all vital funds to support the running of the facility. It was really lovely to have such great live music helping create a very convivial atmosphere - and for once the weather was kind to us all. Thank you, too, for saying you might be up for something similar next summer – we’ll be in touch again soon, I’m sure."

Fund-raiser gig for Chipping Norton Lido, July 2016
"I just want to say thank you once again for entertaining us so brilliantly at the Garden Party last Friday. There were XXX people there which was amazing and we have received some lovely comments about the music [...] Your music is just perfect for the Garden Party and you certainly brightened up a cloudy, breezy day! It is so kind of you all to give your time so generously and very much appreciated by XXXX."

Garden Party gig, July 2016
"You folks were absolutely wonderful and I really enjoyed your set as did all the other people attending and so pleased to hear you enjoyed it too! We will most definitely be in contact for the next night market!"

Evening Street Market gig, June 2016
"It was a pleasure to meet you all and thank you so much for coming. We so enjoyed your music! Goodness yes the weather, and yet so many happy faces... No no, it will NEVER rain again!!"

Daylesford Festival gig, May 2016
"Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Well done, fabulous show."

Pub gig, May 2016
"Oh what a fab evening we had on Saturday and truly mostly down to you guys! Everyone loved you! You are such an amazingly tight and clever sound and so entertaining. Absolutely ideal for our sort of event."

Private party gig, April 2016
"Thanks guys we had a great night and every one said you was great too."

Pub gig, November 2015
"The band was 'Fiddlebop' who were tremendous and enjoyed by everyone. They certainly got feet tapping and most people had a quick jig at some point. They gave their time for nothing and we so appreciate their support for our work in the South African township. Dave Favis-Mortlake introduced all tunes and told some interesting anecdotes about their origin and together with Jo Davies, Roger Davis and their guest Jez Cooke (superb guitarist) played a variety of great music. Many THANKS to all the band. Highly recommended. [...] We made the superb sum of xxx which will be wending its way to South Africa very soon. I know how much they need a vehicle that can safely transport children around so this may well go towards that, slowly but surely the funds will build to purchase this important addition to the project."

Fund-raiser gig, November 2015
"I just want to say again (in the cold light of day!) that your music in the [pub] last night was the best music I’ve ever heard. It took me ... right into heaven. What a great talented bunch of people you are. Let’s get you back as soon as."

Pub gig, August 2015
"Thanks guys. Cracking gig and a really appreciative audience."

Pub gig, April 2015
"Thank you for such an excellent performance last night. It was a sensational gig and I was so happy with everything you did. It could not have gone better. I will remember it for many years to come."

FiddleBop private party gig, June 2015
"Thank you so much for such a fantastic performance on Saturday night. Everybody who came to the party said how wonderful you all were and really enjoyed your music."

FiddleBop private party gig, March 2015
"You were wonderful on Friday evening and really helped the evening to go with a real swing. So many people said how much they enjoyed it!"

FiddleBop gig at Art Cafe, November 2014
"Fiddle bop were a perfect choice for my party and you have been getting rave reviews! Thank you so much..."

Private party, September 2014
"On behalf of us all at xxx, so many thanks for entertaining us last night with your amazing and fab gypsy jazz music. You did a great job and we all loved it... we would love you to come and play for us again in the future..."

Garden party gig, September 2014
"I just wanted to thank you once again for a wonderful musical touch at our Summer Fete, comments from Relatives and Residents have been really positive."

FiddleBop gig at Care Home, July 2014
"We plan to book you again in 2015!... a big thank you for your contribution and please be free next year !!"

Chipping Norton Festival, June 2014
"Thank you so much for playing for us last night, everyone said how much they enjoyed your music. It was just perfect for the 1930s heyday of xxx. It was lovely to meet you all and I wish you much success for the rest of the year."

FiddleBop gig, June 2014
"Thanks again for Fiddlebop's wonderful contribution - it lifted the whole party. As you saw, we had guests from 2 to 85 years old, and lots of them told me how much they'd enjoyed the music. We really appreciated your professionalism and adaptability, too."

Private party, June 2014
"Thank you so much for playing, we really do appreciate it. I thought you were brilliant, love your style of music and the energy you bought with you."

FiddleBop gig, May 2014
"We all thought you were great... Hope to hear you again soon."

FiddleBop gig, September 2013
"Thank you to all of you for coming yesterday and playing so stunningly. The music was much appreciated by everyone... We raised xxx which was a very good result. Thank you SO MUCH again."

Fund-raiser event, September 2013
"... with Dave on authentic Grappellyesque fiddle..."

Jam session, September 2013
"Hi guys. Thank you so, so much for playing for us last night! You played beautifully and helped to make our special day even more perfect. Love always xxx and xxx"

FiddleBop wedding gig, August 2013
"Just wanted to say a personal thank you to you and the band for entertaining us on Friday at the Garden Party. It was just perfect and lovely to see xxx joining in too. Please pass on my thanks to all concerned it was brilliant!"

Garden party, July 2013
"Just to say thank you so much for coming to play for us on a very hot Sunday. You really made the day for us and you created such a lovely atmosphere for all. You will be pleased to know that we made xxx of which xxx is going to each of the three charities. Have a great summer and many thanks again. We love your music."

Fund-raiser event, July 2013
"Great set last night and a lot of fun. Thanks for a good evening."

FiddleBop pub gig, March 2013
"We just loved your visit to the xxx's house. Looking to hearing you again soon."

Private party, November 2012

Gypsy jazz zing: updated!